Boorowa Council was established in 1944 and the Local Government Area (LGA) of 2,578.6 square kilometers encompasses the town of Boorowa along with the villages of Rye Park, Rugby, Frogmore and Reid's Flat.

Boorowa Council's community of people is one of its greatest assets. Many community groups and individuals assist Council in providing facilities, services, social opportunities and promotion. The growing population, estimated at 2,478, enjoys excellent local services and facilities, along with the benifit of being within close reach of larger regional centres and cities.